pannomad.blogg.se

Best of the lox
Best of the lox











best of the lox

Please post your results, and feel free to share this with others but please give credit where it is due. You may use more or less brown sugar depending on your tastes, but try mine as is and adjust after you try it.

best of the lox

More garlic, or soy sauce, lemon, coriander seeds there are no rules for flavor. You may add any flavor you want to the wet brine. This process is for cold smoking salmon (LOX) only, preferably with a Bradley smoker.Īfter speaking to a few people, who do this for a living I got the process they use but they wouldn't give up the recipe so I created my own.

best of the lox

With this recipe I have been consistent with my results. Making good smoked salmon isn't a mystery or a matter of luck it's a matter of patience and time. One that was around on the Bradly forum.Īfter searching for various recipes for good LOX, I finally created this one which is a compilation of many I have heard of, tried and modified. Here is a recipe I have used in the past. Will definitely become something I do on the regular. And now I’m comfortable with the process going forward. I do prefer them smoked though.Īfter the smoker. I sliced a couple slices to check the taste. Here they are as lox, after the curing period and after the ice water soak but before the smoke. You can see they are smaller and not as fatty as other salmon. Here’s the fillets fresh prior to curing. Just got it, and other than testing, this was the maiden voyage. This is what I used for my cold smoke generator. Going to use it on eggs benedict in the morning. Rinsed and soaked in ice water for 90 minutes, then let dry overnight in a covered container. Used 50/50 kosher salt to brown sugar for the cure. But it really turned out pretty damn good. I thought it would be a good first test, as there was not a lot of it if I screwed it up! Also understanding pink salmon is probably not the ideal salmon for lox, since it’s a little leaner. For this first run, I used two smaller pink salmon fillets that were given to me by my brother in law. Used the recipe and guidance of SmokinAl from his thread several years ago. I’ve been very excited to try my first run at nova lox and also the first time using my new cold smoke set up on my smoker.













Best of the lox